Oh der, oh der, oh der

Not a usual blog post but a transcript of an email communication that I had with McCoy’s. I’ve punted it across to Laura at the everyday sexism project but I guess maybe it’s not quite what she’s looking for (although do check the site out – it’s rather a revelation). Anyway, it was lunchtime and I was snacking on crisps…

Dear Sir/Madam,

I was eating a packet of your rather tasty McCoy’s Flame Grilled Steak crisps earlier and I was enjoying them so much that I looked at the back of the packet to check the ingredients. Imagine my surprise when I saw that they were MAN CRISPS – call me naïve but I had assumed they were potato crisps.

Closer examination revealed that I had indeed been correct in my initial assumption and that the claim MAN CRISPS was merely another example of everyday sexism: perpetuating patriarchal prejudice through the power of suggestion, subtly imparting archaic value sets under the radar. This same text appears on the multi-packs, too: well, it’s good to see that you are targeting kids’ lunchboxes with these gender stereotypes – get sexist values instilled in them while they’re still young, huh?

Incidentally, since many of these packets are going to end up in school lunchboxes, please could you consider fostering correct English in young minds by using hyphens in the terms “full-on flavours” and “flame-grilled steak”?

Yours faithfully,

Fles

This was the rather lacklustre response I received – you might want to consider it when contemplating your own future snack choices.

Der Fles (Is that an insult or a typo? I can’t tell)

Thank you for contacting us about our current advertising for the McCoy’s brand.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed and felt the advertising was not to your liking.

McCoy’s are eaten and enjoyed by a wide range of consumers, both male and female, and of all ages. We are however aware that the majority of McCoy’s consumers are men which we reflect in our advertising.

Our advertising campaign is intended to be a light-hearted take on everyday situations that hopefully people can relate to and share a smile with. We never intend for our advertising to cause any offence or concern to consumers.

We do also receive lots of positive comments from our consumers who have followed and enjoyed McCoy’s advertising for many years.

Consumer feedback on our brands is important to us. We continually review all feedback we receive and consider it in relation to future campaigns.

With regard to hyphens being used, your comments have been passed to our Packaging team for their information when next finalising packaging before printing.

Kind regards
Consumer Services Team
KP Snacks Ltd

About Fles

Early middle-aged (oh yes I am!), no longer long-haired but still speccy and decidedly still an increasingly opinionated git. I’m basically a believer in individualism, that everybody has their own perspective and inner-beauty. I try to find humour in every situation. I enjoy reading and writing poetry.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Sexism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

