Sugar – not merely a euphemism

I was in a certain well-known supermarket one lunchtime last week and, rather than snacking on fattening stuff, I decided that I was going to be healthy. Hence I chose to have a ‘Chargrilled Chicken and Bacon Pasta’ and ‘Carrots with Roasted Red Pepper Dip’, which sounded both nutritious and wholesome.

The meal tasted a little sweet to me but I thought, “No… what kind of a twisted mind would take purportedly healthy food and add sugar to it?” Then I checked. It’s the fifth ingredient in the Roasted Red Pepper dip, in itsy-bitsy tiny print on the bottom (because every little lettering helps). I was, at least, more content to find that no sugar had been added to the pasta – but, wait, what was this? There’s sugar in the mayonnaise, there’s sugar in the yoghurt and herb dressing and – sweet mother of god! – there’s sugar in the bacon. Holy hog hair, why? Don’t these numbskulls think people might be picking healthy-sounding options for a reason?

So the question is: how do I get around this? I could make my own lunches from scratch, but I wouldn’t be prepared to eat anything that I’d prepared (a lesson learnt from bitter experience, I’m afraid). I can’t simply opt to shop elsewhere because it’s the same sorry deal in everything everywhere:
“LOOK – NO FAT!”
“Yeah, but more sugar than chocolate.”

Do I henceforth have to carry a magnifying glass to check the ingredients panel on every single item that I purchase? Alas, it seems that I must.

About Fles

Early middle-aged (oh yes I am!), no longer long-haired but still speccy and decidedly still an increasingly opinionated git. I’m basically a believer in individualism, that everybody has their own perspective and inner-beauty. I try to find humour in every situation. I enjoy reading and writing poetry.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugar – not merely a euphemism

  1. vera ersilia says:

    I am surprised that this is happening in England too. Must be the bad worldwide influence of yr. ex-colonies …?! However, maybe our taste buds are fooled into thinking foods are good simply because we have a natural higher response to sugar and salt before other flavors. (Marketers do know this). And do not forget that the brain craves sugar for its functioning…

Leave a Reply

