Self-Serve Tills

I’d like to relate a conversation that I had with a member of staff one recent evening in a major high street supermarket:

Assistant: Self-serve is free!
Me: Will I get a staff discount?
Assistant: Ha-ha! No, I’m afraid not.
Me: I’ll wait then, thanks. See, I’ve just come from my work and, to be honest, I‘d rather wait and protect the employment of others by not taking their jobs away from them.

Yes, I’m afraid that I really do talk like that. Anyway, here’s the thing: supermarkets make immense profits and yet, somehow, there are unstaffed tills during peak shopping hours. I don’t see why I should effectively subsidise these retail behemoths by working for them unpaid; clearly they ought to be hiring more staff – not least while we are suffering such high levels of youth unemployment in this country.

I’d like to hope that more people will choose to join me in spurning the self-serve checkouts because, make no mistake, they ain’t there for our convenience: they exist merely in order to enable yet higher profit margins for corporate leviathans – and remember that some of these are the same retail outlets that quite recently sought to get their shelves stacked for free by the unemployed under the guise of ‘work experience’. Even the worthiest of charities would struggle to assemble the number of volunteers that these grocers are somehow recruiting by subterfuge.

 

About Fles

Early middle-aged (oh yes I am!), no longer long-haired but still speccy and decidedly still an increasingly opinionated git. I’m basically a believer in individualism, that everybody has their own perspective and inner-beauty. I try to find humour in every situation. I enjoy reading and writing poetry.
This entry was posted in Employment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self-Serve Tills

  1. Elaine Williamson says:

    I always refuse point blank to self serve. I always tell staff that I’m just trying to keep their job for them, yet they usually look at me as if I’m bonkers!
    Call me a cynic but isn’t it obvious that if we allow this, soon a supermarket will become simply a giant warehouse with virtual staff?

  2. Neil says:

    I too refuse the self service tills, for two reasons.
    One, they don’t work correctly – a bag of crisps isnt heavy enough to trigger it in the ‘goods out’ bin, then you get the thing locked and you have to wait for it to be unlocked. Net result is it takes longer.
    Secondly, I like talking to people……

    On another note, which I wonder if we will be forced down, just order it over the internet and do away with the shop altogether, would I trust a no star at MacDs to do my shopping…… Plus what would we do will all the land that the flat pack shops leave behind?

Leave a Reply

