Racism in Football

Sol Campbell’s warning of the potential for racism and violence at the European Championships is depressing but probably valid. It has been proven time and again that racism is the preserve of the poorly educated and the hard-of-thinking: those who are incapable of identifying with political ideals or philosophical principles are instinctively reduced to forming allegiances based upon colours or areas of geographical origin – despite the abundant evidence that there have been generations of inter-mingling and the obvious truth that, beyond superficial appearances, there is very little to differentiate between any of the various groups.

Can it really be any surprise that such a rich seam of mental enfeeblement has provided a perfect and fertile breeding ground for football supporters?

About Fles

Early middle-aged (oh yes I am!), no longer long-haired but still speccy and decidedly still an increasingly opinionated git. I’m basically a believer in individualism, that everybody has their own perspective and inner-beauty. I try to find humour in every situation. I enjoy reading and writing poetry.
This entry was posted in Football, Racism, Sport and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Racism in Football

  1. DC says:

    Miserable, arrogant c**t. The Panorama documentary highlighted a problem that is endemic in Poland/Ulkraine and just because they use football as a vehicle for their hatred, doesn’t mean football fans are racist. Can’t you see the similarities between you writing this blog, dismissing all football fans, most of whom you’ve never met, as stupid and the boarish Legia fans, jumping up and down in the terraces, shouting that the 7000 Polonia fans are all Jews?

  2. manc says:

    You may as well have just written “I use long words and read books so I’m better than you commoners” Ridiculous thing to say and every bit as bigoted as the guys you watched on Panorama.

    You couldn’t be any more elitist and arrogant. But who am I to stop your venting via your own blog. Knock yourself out son.

  3. Fles says:

    To be honest, I was just playing. Football bores me and I was just tinkering with a wind-up but, once I got the parallel with following colours and regional allegiances, I simply had to run with it.

    Having said which, I’ve never understood the passion people feel for the game, in truth; it seems to me to be totally out of proportion and rather similar to religious zealotry – except, of course, that gods rarely transfer between faiths as footballers do, which makes it look even more of a misplaced idolatry to me.

    As for accusing me of intellectual snobbery: that’s nonsense! Some of my best friends are idiots.

  4. Andrew Bare says:

    I totally agree, i think most football fans are poorly educated, easily manipulated tabloid readers that will believe anything the media tells them (providing it is printed in the back of the sun next to the football gossip). There is a small percentage of fans that do not fit this profile but most do.

    You have to ask yourself; do I read a tabloid newspaper? Do I start reading from the back and stop at the TV listings? Do I wear a football shirt when on holiday? Do I listen to Kiss FM? Am I employed as a some sort of tradesman or am I employed at all? Do I ever wear a tracksuit for any other reason than to go to the gym? Have I a tattoo in a visible place (forearms, hands, neck etc)? Do I ever refer to people of colour using some sort of slang term?

    If the answer to more than one of these is yes then you are typical of your species and should probably be rounded up and put in some sort of concentration camp, you should definitely not be allowed to mingle with polite society and under no circumstances be allowed to breed.

Leave a Reply

